“Welcome to my Blog”: Replacing the Music Industry

Have you jumped on the bandwagon? Has upbeat, Electronic Dance Music been a staple for your musical interests much before the present-day?

This blog is not so much a guide, but a compilation of the latest and most interesting, controversial topics of today’s rave and music festival scene that has caught the eyes of almost every youth of this generation. While many remain loyal to their musical roots, Electronic Dance Music (EDM) has progressively made its mark in America to become the next hit sensation since the early 1990s.

With “rave music” progressively conquering America, The Guardian reports how the “1993’s Rave America, which drew 17,000 to the Californian amusement park Knots Berry Farm”, sparked the beginning of the EDM movement. Until recently, the audience has grown tremendously and media coverage became increasingly relevant in reporting the gathering of “130,000 people [in which] no one new” at the Electric Daisy Carnival which took place at the Las Vegas Motor Speedway, as quoted from Insomniac’s Pasquale Rotella (The Guardian).

Raves have taken on a controversial image within the American society as drug abuse is drawn by association, event promoters become charged with illegal matters, and stereotypes are formed.

The rave and music festival scene has not only become a thing of the future, but the new “Facebook” of the musical generation. Like opening a present on Christmas morning, every event invokes a different emotion that constantly draws new individuals. The American Society naturally searches for a glimpse at what the rave is all about.

About kloh2138

Hey All! I'm a currently a Junior at the University of Washington, but my heart resides in San Francisco, CA. I am a huge San Francisco Giants Fan as well as an active tennis player. I love heading to music festivals, concerts, shopping malls, and spend time catching up on the latest news on some of my favorite blogs like buzzfeed and techcrunch! Stay active on my blog and I'll keep you posted on the musical events I find interesting or attend!
This entry was posted in Festivals, Raves and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Welcome to my Blog”: Replacing the Music Industry

  1. rabeam says:

    You’re off to a promising start. I particularly like the second paragraph because it starts to describe your niche. It signals for whom you’re writing the blog. And that leads me to this observation: Never forget that you’re writing mostly for fans of rave movement. If you’re writing for them, do you need to explain what the rave movement is about? Probably not. Talk to them, not to me or to people generally. I’m glad that you’re already thinking links. –RB

  2. rabeam says:

    One more thing: We need to get your name out of the URL and replace it with something that more clearly signals what the blog is about. Ask me about this.

Leave a comment